14. the answer is...

checks and balances
separation of powers

The Constitution separates the government's power into three branches to prevent one person or group from having too much power. The separation of government intro three branches creates a system of checks and balances. This means that each branch can block, or threaten to block, the actions of the other branches. This separation of powers limit the power of the government and prevents the government from violating the rights of the people.