44. the answer is...

Answers will vary. 
[District of Columbia residents should answer that 
D.C. is not a state and does not have a capital. 
Residents of U.S. territories should name the capital of the territory.]

To learn the capital of your state or territory, go to http://www.usa.gov and select the state government link. Each state or territory has its own capital. The state capital is where the state government conducts its business. It is similar to the nation’s capital, Washington, D.C., where the federal government conducts its business. Some state capitals have moved from one city to another over the years, but the state capitals have not changed since 1910. Usually, the governor lives in the state’s capital city.